Beetroot Pesto

IMG_4946

What will I eat this winter?  What will happen when the hard frost hits?

Suddenly the garden’s just limp vegetation.  There’s no more zucchini, tomatoes and squash.  No more soybeans, greens and grapes.

Forlorn, I’ll wonder, what will I eat?

IMG_4626

Well, I’ve got kale put away in bags, blanched and frozen in the full full freezer, with applesauce and apples for pie. Black currants, raspberries, zucchini that’s grated, grapes and potatoes. And lots of our garlic.

I’ve got chickens for eggs.  They’re still laying and loving their lives.

chickens

So I suppose I’ll make stews and smoothies and squash.  I’ll go to Mexico when I can, where it’s hot.  We’ll have pork chops and potatoes.  We’ll figure it out, we’ll still eat well.

IMG_4544

We’ll have roasted garlic with pasta and pestos.  We’ll make meatballs, spaghetti, risotto and mayo.  Indian food, fried eggs, greens on toast.  I’ll never eat a salad again.

IMG_4950

But not true, I’ll make them with cabbage and carrots.  I’ll probably start sprouting again, it’ll happen.

In the winter, the long, hard, cold winter.  We must prepare, we must make do.  We must accept the burden that’s due.  We must give in to its peace and ponder, the seasons that change and see them with wonder.

IMG_4923

Thank god for snowsuits, wood fires and wine.  Bed, pjs, and sun so bright.  Reflected on snow, the quietest days, you can talk to the trees, all bare in the breeze.

seeds

Thank god that everything stops for a moment and in that space we are able to hold it, even enjoy it, we will try and own it, the silence, the marvel, the miracle, the spirit.  We’re here, believe it.

IMG_4948

Beetroot Pesto

beets 4

As you may or may-not know, I love pestos – every kind (and I try all kinds).  I have too many beets around lately, so I whipped this up and it is deliciously sweet and savoury on crackers or toast.  Pair it with goat cheese if you will or serve it alongside another meal.

beets2

-2 cups roasted beets*
-1/3 cup pistachios (roasted and salted)
-juice of one big lime (or 2 small limes)
-3/4 teaspoon salt (or more to taste)
-1 clove garlic
-1/2 of a fresh chile
-1/3 cup grated parmesan
-1/4 cup olive oil
-2 Tablespoons water

Combine all ingredients in the food processor.  Store in the fridge for a couple weeks (if it lasts that long).

* To roast beets:  cut a few washed / scrubbed beets in cubes, toss with olive oil, salt and pepper and bake in a 400 degree oven for about an hour or until tender.

beet toast

2 thoughts on “Beetroot Pesto

  1. Thanks, Nina, for the beautiful visuals, and the encouraging words about winter coming up. I needed that. Still have some beets,too, and want to try your pesto. Looks so yummy!

Leave a Reply

