Granola

IMG_0345

I made granola last week in the middle of the day.  I’ve made granola before but this granola was instant, unforgettable love at first bite, a savoury treat like candy except maple syrup salty yummy,  a crunchy delight that danced in my mouth.  It was the best granola I ever had / made.  It might be the best that you’ll ever have, so you should make it.

It’s easy and the house will smell sweet and homey, like you’re in a warm fluffy bed sleeping in and someone cares for you.  A cosy smell of everything’s all right.

Image

I’m one of those people who doesn’t like too-sweet things, especially for breakfast.  I’m my mom’s daughter that way – we love a bite or two of something (like dark chocolate or good biscuits) after dinner, but we won’t take any crap – no white sugar or corn syrup and nothing in which sugar dominants.  For breakfast, she’d rather have cheese-toast than pancakes and I’d rather have fried eggs.

Image

A few months ago, I read about a savoury granola, but it was one that had no sugar – more like a trail mix.  I bookmarked it, but haven’t made it yet.  I adore my salt-sprinkled chocolate clusters – remind me to give you a recipe – and I always put a bit of extra salt in my baking, so I don’t know why it never occurred to me to make a sweet and savoury granola.

The recipe that follows is adapted from Orangette’s recipe who adapted it from Nekisia Davis (who has a business selling this stuff in New York).   And – here comes the exciting part – it has olive oil in it!!  Which I think is so cool.

olive oil

There are, of course, many variations possible.  You can use any combination of nuts and seeds.  I used brazil nuts and almonds for this recipe but tried another with pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds and cashews and I know pecans would be amazing.  You can add any dried fruit at the end.  I had some candied ginger from our trip to South India, so I used that.  But I also tried one with dried cranberries.  Speaking of India, I could imagine a bit of ground cardamom in there, or cinnamon.  The add-ons (try quinoa, millet or coconut) are optional.  You can add more or less of the sweeteners to taste.

Once baked, this granola is so addictive and precious.  I try and ration to make it last a few days.  Tim hardly dares tip into it – he knows there would be no turning back.  I should make him his own batch.

Image

Sweet and Savoury Granola

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.

Mix:
3 cups oats
1 cup shredded unsweetened coconut or coconut flakes
1/4 cup good sugar
3/4 teaspoon sea salt
1 cup mixed chopped nuts (I used almond and brazil nuts)

Add:
1/4 cup olive oil
1/4 cup maple syrup

Bake on a big cookie sheet:
15 minutes, then stir.
Another 15 minutes, then stir.
Another 10 minutes, or until golden.

While hot, sprinkle over:
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
1/4 cup candied ginger (or other dried fruit)

The best part is at the end when you sprinkle the sea salt on the toasty hot granola and the dried fruit sort of plumps down in its field of oats and friends.

bowl granolaThis is a truly awesome breakfast to look forward to.

3 thoughts on “Granola

  1. Looks awesome Nina! Can’t wait to make my own version.. Can you think of something that could replace the oats? ( not a grain or flour), maybe ground almond?

Leave a Reply

